General information on the NTA 8003 Classification

The NTA 8003 classification is the result of the "Classification of Biomass" project initiated by Novem. The original scheme is described in report EWAB 9905. A modified scheme was described in report 2EWAB00.13. Here the version is used, which became the standard in December 2008. It contains up to four levels. The main groups (highest levels) available are:

NTA code Main group
100 Wood/forestry Hout/bosbouw
200 Biomass from horticulture and agriculture Biomassa uit land- en tuinbouw
300 Manure Mest
400 Sludge Slib
500 Biomass from industry Biomassa uit de industrie
600 Organic residues from households and companies Organisch afval uit huishoudens en bedrijven
700 Other Overig
800 Composite streams Samengestelde stromen
900 Solid Recovered Fuels (SRF) Solid Recovered Fuels (SRF)

Preferably, materials are classified into the lowest levels. If there is insufficient information available, a higher level may be used. Thus, a material might be classified just as "wood" (code 100) or "green wood" (code 110), even though there are subgroups available with codes ending at 1 or 9, indicating "mixtures" and "other" materials respectively.

The Phyllis database contains materials for which there is no specific code within the NTA classification (e.g. fossil fuels). These materials have been given the code 800 i.e. "composite streams".

For many of the wood samples it is not clear whether they contained bark. These samples have been given codes 122, 125 or 131. Only wood samples for which the presence of bark is evident have been given codes 124, 126 or 132.

The full text of the NTA 8003 standard can be obtained from NEN.